LibGuides: JOUR 435: JOUR 435

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

UNLV Libraries: The Rest of the Story

-- How might students make the best use of library resources in their final semesters at UNLV and in their internships and future jobs.

-- What questions do the students have about using library resources?

-- Your last couple semesters @UNLV...How can the library help?

-- How does the library itself rely on research methods (e.g., usability studies, usage stats) in order to plan out future?

Keeping Up to Date on the News & Journalism in General

Check out our extensive list of Newspaper Databases!

Las Vegas Review Journal, as well as hundreds of national sources are available!!

American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA)
ASJA is the nation’s leading organization of independent nonfiction writers. The site contains resources for writers, links to the association’s newsletter, free resources, and updates about the association’s events and conferences.
American Society of Newspaper Editors (ASNE)
The ASNE is a membership organization for daily newspaper editors. The website provides resources about the First Amendment, information about the society’s upcoming events, and information on a variety of topics including credibility, diversity, and ca
Institute for Public Relations
The Institute for Public Relations is “focused on the science beneath the art of public relations.” The organization’s website provides links to research and education for practitioners, researchers, and educators.
Investigative Reporter and Editors (IRE)
The IRE, located in the Missouri School of Journalism, provides educational services to editors, reporters, and others interested in investigative journalism. The site offers information on training opportunities, links to an extensive resource center, a
National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
NAB is a full-service trade association that represents the interests of free, over-the-air radio and television broadcasters. The site includes a wide variety of information about the association and its events, in addition to resource and research links
Newspaper Association of America (NAA)
NAA is a nonprofit organization representing the $55 billion newspaper industry. The site features information on research, publications, readership, circulation, and several other topics.

Pew Research Center: Numbers, facts, & trends shaping the world.
Poynter Institute of Media Studies :The Poynter Institute is a school for journalists, future journalists, and journalism teachers. The site offers resources and educational opportunities for reporters, broadcasters, and photojournalists.
Public Relations Society of America (PRSA):
The PRSA website provides links to professional development, publications, employment opportunities, networking groups, and membership

Preparing for Internships & Job Interviews

Besides databases such as: Communication & Mass Media Complete, how can you prepare yourself for the field of journalism?

Check Out Some of These Resources:

Do you have a internship interview or a big job interview? Find out as much as possible about the company using these resources:

Business Source Premier
Scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business along with country reports, company profiles, industry profiles and SWOT analyses. **This one is especially great for company profiles!
OneSource
This global business information database contains current public and private company information, SWOT analyses, market report, company news, financial information and executive profiles.
CoreReference
Comprehensive financial statements and other financial data for public companies. Search by company name or by other common criteria that characterize public companies.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Industry market research information, company reports and economic reports.
Value Line Research Center
Investment publications from Value Line covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.
Factiva
Continuously updated news and business information from major news sources.
Richard K. Miller & Associates Reports

Market research handbooks

Social Media!

Social Media & Journalism--Some Observations!

JOUR 435: JOUR 435

Subject Guide

UNLV Libraries: The Rest of the Story

Keeping Up to Date on the News & Journalism in General

Preparing for Internships & Job Interviews

Social Media!

Locations

Contact