Google is an amazing search engine! As a journalist, there are many ways to enhance your searching and keep yourself posted on hot topics:
Google Scholar: Scholarly books & articles
Google News: Limit by past hour, past day, past month
Google Alerts are email updates of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.) based on your choice of query or topic.
Visit the Google Products page to check out all options available on Google!
General Career Internet Resources
UNLV Libraries Career Resource Guide: Links to general career resources, selected job sites, resume sites, and cover letter information,
Vault Online Career Library: 
current editions.
Industry career guides, industry employer guides, career topic guides
and interview/resume guides published in the Vault career library
series.
CareerMagazine: A community providing career resources and the latest jobs.
CareerBuilder.com: Searches job listings from the Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, San Jose Mercury News, and the Washington Post.
JobWeb: A service of the National Association of Colleges and Employers, JobWeb offers career and job-search advice for new college graduates.
Print and Broadcast Job Links
California Journalism Job Bank
Corporation for Public Broadcasting Jobline
Careers at Gannett: Updated weekly. Information about positions available in the Gannett Co. and its 92 daily newspapers.
FOLIO: Careers: Magazine job searching by keyword, category, state; includes also industry salary calculators.
JournalismJobs.com: In addition to a comprehensive job bank, this site provides job-related resources for journalists.
NAB Career Center: Job-hunting resources from the National Association of Broadcasters.
National Diversity Journalism Job Bank
NCEW Job Bank: National Conference of Editorial Writers
Other Journalism Job Banks, from the National Diversity Newspaper Job Bank page.
Communication and Mass Media Complete 1900-.
Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies [more+]
Communications Studies full text 1950-.
Full text of 16 communications journals published by Sage. [more+]
ComAbstracts 1930-.
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. [more+]
Market Research.com full text
dates of coverage vary.
Full-text market research reports
Gallup Brain full text 1935-.
Database of public opinions. Also contains in-depth public opinion and management data analyses.
UNLV Libraries Newspaper Databases: UNLV Libraries subscribes to dozens of newspaper databases--historical, current, national, local, and specialized.
Zotero.com: Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself.
Twitter.com: Microblogging tool that provides real-time search results. You'll be able to see what people are talking about immediately.
Start Pages:Everyone needs a place to start: Start pagers will give you tons of different options. Here are a few links to start pages:
iGoogle, MyYahoo, Netvibes, Pageflakes
Check out these two articles about Start Pages:
Alpha-Geek: Start Page Showdown
Top 5 Personalized Start Pages
Mashups--take parts of separate websites & combine them together for added value in a new website.
Popurls: Popurls encapsulates the up-to-the minute headlines from the most popular sites on the Internet.
Alltop: Alltop is an “online magazine rack” of popular topics.
Social Bookmarking: Social bookmarking is a method for Internet users to users to store, organize, search, and manage bookmarks of web pages. In a social bookmarking system, users save links to web pages that they want to remember and/or share. Some examples:
Browers: Each of the major web browsers have various levels of customization available to users:
IE8 http://www.microsoft.com/
Firefox http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/
Opera http://www.opera.com/
Safari http://www.apple.com/safari/
Flock http://www.flock.com/
Google Chrome: http://www.google.com/chrome
Poynter Online: The Poynter Institute is a school for journalists, future journalists, and teachers of journalism
Pew Research Center for People and the Press: The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues. The Center conducts regular monthly polls on politics and major policy issues as well as the News Interest Index, a weekly survey aimed at gauging the public's interest in and reaction to major news events. Shorter commentaries are produced on a regular basis addressing the issues of the day from a public opinion perspective.
National Association of Broadcasters (NAB): NAB exists to proactively and vigilantly advance the rights and interests of free, over-the-air radio and television broadcasters. Click on the Resources link for research publications and reports.
Radio Television Digital News Association: The online destination for electronic journalists.
Journalism Resources: Information sources, reference, statistics & science, government, economic & policy links ... compiled by Karla Tonella at the University of Iowa.
World Press Institute: Here you'll find links to valuable Web sites for practicing journalists, as well as articles on important topics in world journalism.