When was your speech first presented? One of the best places to get a sense of the time period is through newspapers. UNLV Libraries has a wide selection of newspaper databases going back centuries through today.
You will be able to find a wide variety of rhetorical analyses & criticisms, along with a wide variety of resources about the speaker on the Library's QuickSearch (on the home page), in the library catalog, and in UNLV Libraries databases such as Communication & Mass Media Complete, Communication Studies, ComAbstracts, and JSTOR.
You may also want to try Google Scholar to expand your search to a wider variety of disciplines at once.
There are some interesting print sources available through LinkPLUS. If you order these materials, they will arrive within 2 to 4 days at Lied Library & you will be notified via email upon their arrival.
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The full text of many items is freely available online, although in some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view interlibrary loan are displayed.
Check out the following UNLV Libraries databases:
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies [more+]
Full text of 16 communications journals published by Sage. [more+]
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. [more+]
Academic Search Premier
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline. [more+]
Vital Speeches of the Day
Vital Speeches of the Day is a monthly collection of speeches in the world. Coverage begins at 1934 through present.
This site offers an online speech bank of more than 5,000 full text, audio, and video versions of public speeches, lectures, debates, speeches in movies, and other recorded media events both serious and for entertainment. Authenticity for many speeches is certified by the site.
American Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election, 1918-1920: The Nation's Forum Collection consists of fifty-nine sound recordings of speeches by American leaders from 1918-1920. The speeches focus on issues and events surrounding the First World War and the subsequent presidential election of 1920. Speakers include: Warren G. Harding, James Cox, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Samuel Gompers, Henry Cabot Lodge, and John J. Pershing. Speeches range from one to five minutes.
British Political Speech: A full-text searchable archive of speeches by British politicians.
Commencement Addresses: A selection of commencement addresses from 1936 to 2012.
Famous Speeches in History (History.com): Includes audio and video of famous presidential, war, civil rights, sports, and space exploration speeches.
Gifts of Speech Project: Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, that provides access to speeches by contemporary women from around the world.
Great Speeches of the 20th Century: British newspaper, The Guardian, compiled transcripts, audio and/or video of 14 great speeches from the 20th century.
History and Politics Out Loud: HPOL (History and Politics Out Loud) is a searchable multimedia database delivering authoritative and significant audio relevant to American history and politics. This project is supported by a major grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities Teaching With Technology Program in collaboration with Michigan State University and the National Gallery of the Spoken Word.
History Place - Great Speeches Collection: A collection of memorable speeches from around the world.
Speeches from History (Toastmasters): Provides transcripts of several famous speeches.
Voices of Democracy: The U.S. Oratory Project: The Voices of Democracy project is designed to promote the study of great speeches and public debates. The emphasis of the project is on the actual words of those who, throughout American history, have defined the country’s guiding principles, debated the great social and political controversies of the nation’s history, and shaped the identity and character of the American people.
Remarks, Testimony, Speeches, and Briefings by Department of State Officials (United States): Provides transcripts of remarks, testimony, speeches, and briefings by Department of State Officials from 2009 to present.
You may want to search the UNLV Library catalog either by keyword or by subject. Below are some links to possible subject headings that may be helpful:
|World War, 1939-1945 -- Social aspects -- Great Britain|
|Churchill, Winston, 1874-1965 -- Oratory|
|Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- Oratory|
|Rhetoric -- Political aspects -- United States -- History -- 18th century||5|
Online newspaper collections