This guide is designed to assist you with your upcoming research paper. We will go over how to find scholarly materials, including books, scholarly journal articles using UNLV Libraries databases, in addition to Google Scholar.
You can search for articles within specific Communication Studies using the UNLV Library website or via Google Scholar. Check out the instructions on the PowerPoint for details!
Below are some UNLV Libraries Databases that will be useful for you when searching for scholarly articles. In addition to the three main Communication Studies-specific databases, we have included some interdisciplinary databases that may be useful during your search.
Here are keyword some examples:
**Please note: If you choose Communication & Mass Media Complete, you may consider clicking on the "Choose Databases" link and add Academic Search Premier, PsycArticles, and other databases simultaneously.**
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowQuick Search is an innovative Google-like research discovery engine that provides instant search access to a high proportion of the University Libraries’ resources, including journal and newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, electronic books, the locations of relevant print books, and much more. Users type keywords into a single search box to begin finding resources.
**On the right hand side, go to "Refine My Results" to limit by publication type (such as scholarly/peer reviewed article), by time period, etc.)
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The full text of many items is freely available online, although in some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view interlibrary loan are displayed.
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:
