LibGuides: EOH709 Scientific and Technical Writing/Pharr: Home

Xan Goodman, Nursing, Integrated Health Sciences & Public Health Librarian

Xan Goodman, SON, IHS, SPH, SDM Health Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154
Office 1184

702-895-2233

Subjects: Allied Health, Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nursing, Nutrition

Library Workshop Materials

PICO Handout
Library workshop handout

Data Resources

BRFSS(Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System)

Welcome

Welcome to the EOH709

Scientific and Technical Writing Class Guide

This guide will link to resources for the seminar course EOH 709.

Scientific writing is an area that requires skills in information literacy, writing, and organization. This guide contains information to help you as you learn.

Research Article Databases

Research Article Databases for Public Health

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles about complementary and alternative medicine.
Update frequency: quarterly
Alt Health Watch offers abstracts or full text of nearly 50,000 articles from over 160 international, peer-reviewed, and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters about complementary and alternative medicine. Covers such areas of alternative medicine as acupuncture, chiropractic, aromatherapy, naturopathy, homeopathy, osteopathy, and numerous cross-cultural therapies.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1982-
The main index for nursing literature and allied health.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of evidence based medicine databases.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase is an index to scholarly articles in medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects.
Embase content is indexed using a specialized thesaurus, Emtree, that includes biomedical, chemical, and drug terms. There is a special focus on drugs and devices.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1966-
Scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education.
Update frequency: monthly
Use ERIC to search abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Subject indexing allows you to zero in on all the articles relevant to your topic. ERIC digests offer overviews of significant scholarship on a topic.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Health is derived from over 7,000 journals, reports, books, and conferences, and contains over 2.7 million scientific records from 1973 to the present.
Published by CAB International, this is the only specialist bibliographic database dedicated to public health, with a focus on international medical and health research, capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
Journals@Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins (LWW) full text nursing journals with deep backfiles.
Journals@Ovid consists of two sets of nursing titles. One set has about 40 titles on nursing and health professions with content from 1997 to present. The Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins Legacy Archive Collection has 240 nursing titles with coverage ending after 1999.
Medline via OCLC FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1965-
Index of medical literature, including over 15,800,000 records from medical, dental, and nursing journals.
Medline via OVID This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 23 million article citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. It also includes additional selected life sciences journals not found in MEDLINE.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?

Journal Metrics

Journal Citation Reports full text

Published by Thomson-Reuters, JCR provides information on the influence of individual periodicals to publishing within specific scholarly disciplines (impact factors). Iy also gives information year-by-year on the impact factors of journals as well as the half-life (for how many years an article is cited after publication) of journals.

EOH709 Scientific and Technical Writing/Pharr: Home