Skip to main content

Genealogy Guide

This is a guide to resources at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Libraries that may be of use to genealogists.

Handbooks, guides, & directories

Ethnic Genealogy: A Research Guide 

Call number: CS49 E83 1983

Discusses problems encountered when searching for Native American, Asian American, African American or Hispanic ancestors.  Gives steps to take in conducting research on these groups.

Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives

Call number: Z5313 U5 U54 1985

Tells how federal records are organized and how to use them.

In Search of Your European Roots: A Complete Guide to Tracing Your Ancestors in Every Country in Europe

Call number: CS403 B39 1985

Explains the effects of politics, history, and wars upon genealogical records.  Describes the records in each national to municipal level in great detail.  Tells how to locate orphan, passport, vaccination, guild, and confirmation records and certificates of domicile.  Includes lists of genealogical organizations.

 

The Library: A Guide to the LDS Family History Library

Call number: Z675 C5 L42x 1988

This is part of Ancestry’s reference library, so it is available  through them.  Discusses the collections of the LDS church as applied to 10 regions of the United States, and there are also 14 essays that discuss record types in different parts of the world.  Particularly strong in British genealogy.

Print Guides to Doing Genealogy Online

The Unofficial Guide to Online Genealogy

Call number: CS21 H25 2001

Covers primary and secondary sources, determining computer needs, choosing browsers and web-based email service, online research tips, genealogy websites

Genealogy Online for Dummies

Call number: CS21 H45 2008 (also available online)

Covers government sources, international records, ethnic research, tools for genealogical travel, and includes a glossary 

 

Print Handbooks

 

                   

Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County & Town Sources

Call number: CS49 A55 1989

Guide to research in each state.  Includes a brief directory of libraries and societies and has charts that indicate if records have been destroyed.

Applied Genealogy

Call number: CS16 S854 1988

Defines genealogy and tries to differentiate between what is good and bad genealogy.  Primary emphasis is on England and New England.

 

Hill-Donnelly Cross Reference Directory [Las Vegas]

Call number: Special Collections HE8841 L32 H5

Library has 1977-2000. Librarya hs Consumer and business guide for 2001-2006

Tells what person or business was at a particular address.

 

Library also owns some phone books of various dates for communities in Nevada and neighboring states.  Search the libraries’ online catalog under the city name followed by –Telephone directories.  Many are from the 1990s, a few are from the 1970s, and there is one for Nevada in general from 1935.

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Katherine Rankin's picture
Katherine Rankin
Contact:
LLB 2236, 4505 Maryland Parkway Box 457034

Las Vegas, NV 89154-7034

ph. (702) 895-2224
Subjects:Genealogy
© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**