Skip to main content

Genealogy Guide

This is a guide to resources at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Libraries that may be of use to genealogists.

Indexes

Print Obituary Indexes

The New York Times Obituaries Index: 1858 – 1978.

        Location:  Microforms Area

        Call number: CT213 N532 1970

This book brings together in a single alphabetical listing, all the names entered under the heading “Deaths” in the issues of the New York Times Index from 1858 – 1978.

 

Obituaries: a Guide to Sources

        Call number: Z5305 U5 J37 1989

Covers newspapers, journals, books, annuals, yearbooks, proceedings of professional organizations

 

Personal Name Index to the New York Times Index, 1851-1974.  Also supplement for 1975-2003.

Location: Microforms Area

Lists names in the New York Times Index and not in the newspaper itself.  Brings together names from categories such as book reviews, concerts, deaths, and disappearances.  Multiple citations to specific names are arranged chronologically and often include a person’s political or occupational title.

 

 

Print Census Indexes

 

Using the Census Soundex

Call number: Microforms Area HA181 U75 1997

Guide to using the Soundex and Miracode index systems with the National Archives census records.

 

Federal Population censuses, 1790-1890: a Catalog of Microfilm Copies of the Schedules

Call number: Microforms Area HA201 1790 U53 1985

Includes 1880 Soundex index.

 

1900 Federal Population Census: a Catalog of Microfilm Copies of the Schedules

Call number: Microforms Area HA201 1900 U53 1985

Includes 1900 Soundex index.

 

Researcher’s Guide to United States Census Availability, 1790-1910

Call number: Z7553 C3 H36 1987

Arranged by state and counties and shows what censuses and their indexes exist for 1790-1910.  Indicates if courthouse records have been destroyed and if a county has a written history.

 

1910 Nevada Census Index: Heads of Households and Other Surnames in Household Index

Call number: Microforms Area F840 A17 1984

Lists where specific individuals are located in the 1910 census for Nevada.  Citations include name of head of household, county, page number, and town.

 

Nevada Biographical and Genealogical Sketch Index

Call number: LASR and Special Collections Z1309 P37 1986

Index to biographies in 86 Nevada state, regional, county and city histories and biographical directories published between 1870 and 1985.

 

Mormons and Their Neighbors: An Index to Over 75,000 Biographical Sketches from 1820 to Present 

 

Call number: Stacks and Special Collections Z7845 M8 W54 1984

Indexes individuals who lived between 1820 and 1981 in Mexico, New Mexico, Arizona, southern California, Nevada, Utah, Idaho, Wyoming and southern Canada.

A revised edition with 100,000 entries is available online at the BYU website: http://www.lib.byu.edu/Ancestry/sources.php

It still does not cover people born after 1981.

 

 

Print Indexes and Abstracts

Bibliographic Index

In LASR

 Index to articles in magazines.  Look under topics such as “history” and “immigration and emigration” as well as “genealogy”.  Also look under place names, and some index family surnames in a separate section.

 

                                     Indexes to Government Publications

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications

Available online: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS844

Examples of government publications are: Maps Can Help You Trace Your Family Tree and Using Maps in Genealogy

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Katherine Rankin's picture
Katherine Rankin
Contact:
LLB 2236, 4505 Maryland Parkway Box 457034

Las Vegas, NV 89154-7034

ph. (702) 895-2224
Subjects:Genealogy
© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**