You can search the Library Quick Search by Subject. This is not an exhaustive list of film subject headings. As you find items relevant to your research, take note of the subject headings listed. Using those will help you find similar relevant materials. Some useful subjects include:
Feminism and motion pictures
Homosexuality in motion pictures
Masculinity in motion pictures
Motion pictures -- History
Motion picture industry
Motion pictures -- Aesthetics
Motion pictures and literature
Motion pictures and music
Motion picture authorship
Motion picture actors and actresses -- [Country] -- Biography
Motion picture producers and directors -- [Country] -- Biography
Motion pictures -- Production and direction
[Director: Last, First]
[Director: Last, First] -- History and criticism
The print collection of film related materials is located on the 4th floor of Lied Library.
PN1560-1590 The performing arts. Show business
PN1635-1650 Relation to, and treatment of, special subjects
PN1660-1693 Technique of dramatic composition (includes playwriting)
PN1865-1988 Special types
PN1991-1991.9 Radio broadcasts
PN1992-1992.92 Television broadcasts
PN1992.93-19 92.95 Nonbroadcast video recordings
PN1993-1999 Motion pictures
PN1997-1997.85 Plays, scenarios, etc.
PN2000-3307 Dramatic representation. The theater
PN2061-2071 Art of acting
PN2085-2091 The stage and accessories
PN2131-2193 By period
PN2219.3-3030 Special regions or countries
PN3035 The Jewish theater
PN3151-3171 Amateur theater
PN3175-3191 College and school theatricals
PN3203-3299 Tableaux, pageants, "Happenings," etc.
Film Studies: Critical Approaches represents the most up-do-date critical guide to the study of film, covering all the significant theories, debates and approaches to the subject. A team of international experts provides an overview of the main disciplinary approaches to film studies, explaining the main concepts and methods involved in film analysis, and discussing areas in detail, including important new areas such as film audiences and reception, queer theory, film and psychoanalysis, and poststructuralist debates.
A succinct guide to thinking critically and writing precisely about film. Both an introduction to film study and a practical writing guide, this brief text introduces students to film terms and the major film theories, enabling them to write more critically.
The International Film Business examines the independent film sector as a business, and addresses the specific skills and knowledge it demands. It describes both the present state of the industry, the significant digital and social media developments that are continuing to take place, and what changes these might effect.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory is an international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the centre of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century, to the beginning of the twenty-first.
Introduction to important issues in documentary history and criticism. A new chapter, "I Want to Make a Documentary: Where Do I Start?" guides readers through the steps of planning and preproduction and includes an example of a project proposal for a film that went on to win awards at major festivals.
Action cinema is entering the drone age. At a time when technological advances are transforming cultures and supporting new automated military operations, action films engage the senses and, in doing so, allow viewers to embody combat roles. This book argues that through film the viewer adapts to an 'ecology of fear', one that reflects global panic at the near-constant threat of conflict and violence.
The Encyclopedia's inclusive approach encompasses opera and film, dance and radio, and para-theatrical, non-dramatic performances including circuses and carnivals, and parades and public executions--providing truly extensive coverage from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984.
This unique reference work is designed to bridge the gap between guides and dictionaries that are primarily academic and theoretical and those that deal mainly in technical jargon. Above all, it is aimed at students of film and media who are likely to encounter a wide range of specialist language in a variety of places--in film reviews, critical essays, interviews with filmmakers and stars, and academic and Internet publications.