A great tool for when you are beginning your research, Quick Search is a research discovery engine that provides instant search access to many of the University Libraries’ resources, including journal and newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, electronic and print books, and much more. Quick Search results can be filtered by limiting to type of source, date range, subject, etc.
Type keywords into the search box to begin finding resources!
Finding Background Information
The following resources provide background information on playwrights and related theatre topics. They are a great place to start your research and will help you explore and focus possible topics.
Reference texts in American theater, as well as images of posters, playbills, photos, architectural images, floor plans, and other ephemera. This collection also allows cross-searching of the full text contents of five online full-text drama collections: Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, Asian American Drama, Latino Literature, and North American Women's Drama.
Designed to meet the research needs of undergraduates, the Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. LRC covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement, or literary themes.
The dictionary opens with a chronology spanning from 1538 to 1880, providing a framework for this period. Including brief biographical background along with some plot synopses, more than 1,000 short entries offer profiles of actors (Sarah Bernhardt in her debut, Edwin Booth, and Ira Aldridge), plays (Hazel Kirke, Uncle Tom's Cabin, Our American Cousin, and Fashion: Or Life In New York), and theaters (Walnut Street Theater, Ford's Theater, the McVicker's Theater, and the African Grove Theater, created for African Americans).
Reviews current knowledge of the character and operation of theatres in Shakespeare's time, with an explanation of their origins. Coverage includes the practices of Elizabethan actors and script writers: methods of characterization; gesture, blocking and choreography, including music, dance and fighting; actors' rhetorical interaction with audiences; and use of costumes, stage props, and make-up.
Some of the numerous topics covered are equipment, methods, concepts, design process, electricity, characteristics of light, and lightboard operations. Where applicable, entries present both the historical and current day significance of the apparatus or concept being introduced. In addition, the many areas of stage lighting that elicit debate are viewed from all angles and the various options presented.
Now, the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre -- a 1994 Dartmouth Medal honorable mention -- has been fully revised and updated to document such developments with 500 new articles, more than 4,000 revised articles and dozens of color photos. From the dawn of operetta in the 18th century to the present, this set offers an unrivaled amount of information on the people, the songs and shows in America and around the world.
A Dictionary of Theatre Anthropology subtly juxtaposes the visual demonstrations of the performers craft, from a wealth of Oriental and Occidental sources. Whereas most Western research is concerned with naturalism and psychological realism in acting, the Dictionary focuses on the performer's arduous and eclectic craft. More than just a dictionary, however, this is a handbook for theatre practitioners and a guide for students and scholars of transcultural performance.
The International Dictionary of Theatre is a three-volume work, international and historical in scope, covering the theatre from the festivals of ancient Greece to the productions, plays, players, directors and designers of the modern stage. The 3 volumes comprise 1500 entries, selected by an international advisory board.