Primary sources with editorial commentary representing significant British historical documents, like treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, orders, acts, sermons, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters, diaries and more.
The sources cover a wide spectrum of topics, from political and constitutional issues to social, economic, religious as well as cultural history.
Primary sources for American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books from pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
Reproduces a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection. Interactive maps and a chronology let you browse the collection, or search by topic or keyword. Can be cross searched with the American West collection.
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.
Searchable collection of women's letters and diaries.
Update frequency: quarterly
Facsimile pages of previously unpublished manuscripts offer exact reproductions of letters and diary pages by both famous and otherwise unknown women in Great Britain and Ireland. The range of diary formats includes the travel diary, offering detailed accounts of journeys and descriptions of places; the daily personal diary, in which women reflected more broadly on aspects of their lives; letter diaries, wherein a daily dated letter to a recipient served simultaneously as a diary entry; and other forms. Content indexed in In the First Person.
Books on all subjects published in England between 1475 and 1700.
Update frequency: annual
Page images accurately reflect the way the works appeared in their original printed editions. Included are works by such authors as Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. The database also includes musical exercises by Henry Purcell, novels by Aphra Behn, prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources. This is the online equivalent of the Early English Books microform series, which is based on the Short-Title Catalogue (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); the Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700); the Thomason Tracts, and the Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Primary sources about British colonies in Africa, North and South America, Australia, and South Asia, 1492-1969.
Text and images of primary source material including maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, and rare books that document life and trade in the British empire's colonies. Thematic sections covering Cultural Contacts, the Literature of Empire, the Visible Empire, Religion, Race, Class and Imperialism. Records shed light on issues of race and class in the colonial context; biographical notes and scholarly essays build context for the sources.
Books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Full text publications reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945.T he Periodical Series contains complete runs of magazines and newspapers mainly from 1860-1900; the Monograph Language Series offers over 4000 books and pamphlets in English (over 2000 titles), German, French and other languages. Non-English-language books are summarized in English.
Manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.
Complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse Additional features include interactive essays, biographies, a palaeography section with transcriptions and alphabets, and a large selection of colour images demonstrating over 320 examples of 17th and 18th century English handwriting.
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is a collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000, from the ancient (explorer Pytheas of the 4th Century BC) to the modern (Princess Diana). For this new edition, all 36,000 lives from the first edition have been completely rewritten or revised-with over 13,500 new biographies added representing all historical periods and including 3,000 new entries on women.
BF1566 .R48 1983 This 104 reel collection spans the 15th to the 20th century concentrating primarily on the 16th to the 18th centuries. In addition to the classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists (those who administered torture), legal and church documents, exposes of persecutions, philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms. Included are the pronouncements of advocates of witch persecution - Binsfield, Boguet, Del Rio, Remi- which can be compared and contrasted to the courageous wanting of Bekker, Loher, Loos, Scot, Spee- who doubted the validity of witch believers and witch trials. The majority of texts are in Latin, English, and German.
This searches through titles and brief descriptions of large research collections on microfilm.
Browse or search brief descriptions of the research collections available on microform at Lied Library. Use a very broad search term (for example, try "women and history" instead of "Seneca Falls Women's Rights Convention") because this tool searches short summaries of very large microfilmed collection. The Microform Collection Finder does not search the microfilm itself.