Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies .
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Full text of 16 communications journals published by Sage.
This communication collection includes the full text of journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies, intercultural communication, television & film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational & management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field.
The ComAbstracts database index contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. Produced by the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship. Use the link labeled "Check your library for full text access" to retrieve complete articles when available online.
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly Scope: International Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
Historical newspapers from every state in the U.S.
Search full text and view page images for articles in categories such as news/opinion, election returns, letters, poetry, legislative information, prices, advertisements, matrimony notices and death notices. Can also be searched in combination with Early American Imprints I and II. Series I, 1690-1876: provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's bibliography, History and bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820, as well as other bibliographies; Series II, 1758-1900: focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860; Series III, 1829-1922: focuses on the period between 1861 and 1920 providing in-depth coverage of the Civil War, Reconstruction, the Gilded Age, the Progressive Era and beyond.
Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Directory of information about organizations all over the world.
With a scope that covers everything from a local Chamber of Commerce to the American Medical Association, and beyond, Associaitons Unlimited contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. For some 2,600 major U.S. national associations, it provides images of association materials such as brochures, pamphlets, and membership application forms.
Provides citations and excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided. To be indexed in Book Review Digest, a book must have been published or distributed in the United States or Canada. A work of nonfiction must have received reviews in two or more of the periodicals on the Book Review Digest selection list. A work of fiction must have received reviews in at least three of the periodicals. Reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences are excluded.
Cover to cover digital reproductions of the Chicago Tribune with searchable full text.
Complete issues of the Chicago Tribune, including news, ads, obituaries, reviews, editorials, legal notices, comics, and photographs. Search by full text and view digital reproductions of newspaper pages. Output is a PDF image of the article as it appeared in the paper. Can be searched in combination with historical NY Times, historical LA Times, and American Periodical Series. For access to the text of Chicago Tribune articles after 1985 see ProQuest Newspapers.
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
Basic facts about history, culture and lifestyles in 187 countries.
Cultural reports for 187 countries and territories each including 25 categories such as land and climate, history, personal appearance, greetings, gestures, family, diet, holidays, economy, education, health, and events and trends.
Alternate name: Culturegrams World Edition
Digital copies of more than 30,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.
Books and other materials are arranged in five main subject areas - business and economics, career and general education, computers, engineering and applied sciences, humanities, social/behavioral sciences and life/physical sciences. The ebrary reader is required to view books and can be downloaded for free from ebrary. A free account is needed In order to access some features (i.e. saving notes and highlights).
Journal and magazine articles about film and television.
Film & Television Literature Index indexes articles covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Cover to cover digital reproductions of the Los Angeles Times with searchable full text.
Complete issues of the Los Angeles Times, including news, ads, obituaries, reviews, editorials, legal notices, comics, and photographs. Search by full text and view digital reproductions of newspaper pages. Output is a PDF image of the article as it appeared in print.
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.
Journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published between 1802-1995
Update frequency: quarterly
Search international scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995. PAO includes pre-1995 issues of over 400 journals, including many journals published in languages other than English.
Searchable current and recent articles from newspapers, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Full text of articles from major national newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today. Also included are the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, and the Las Vegas Review Journal.
Index to articles in popular magazines before 1983.
Citations to articles in U. S. general-interest magazines, providing coverage of events prior to 1983. Covers nonfiction, fiction, poems, short stories, and reviews of books, dance, motion pictures, musicals, operas and operettas, radio and television programs, and theater.
40 online encyclopedias in the social sciences, education and history.
An online collection of more than 40 reference titles from Sage Publications. Reference titles cover a variety of subjects including history, sociology, psychology, criminal justice, political science, communications, social work, education and business.
Search or browse the full text of more than 550 journals in various disciplines including Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by Sage and participating professional societies.
The Social Sciences Citation Index ® (SSCI ®) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, presents searchable full text and page images of The Times (London). The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.
Information on how to find publications that are produced by government agencies covering a wide variety of topics
Government information resources include Congressional laws and hearings, nutrition, crime, diseases, endangered species, immigration, and much more. The U.S. federal government is also the world's greatest collector and publisher of statistics.
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.