The ChemCollective is a group of chemistry educators including a core group at Carnegie Mellon who have developed several teaching tools or digital learning objects for use in chemical education. The tools were developed as part of a project for the National Science Digital Library (http://nsdl.org/).
The Protein database is the most fundamental U.S. National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) resource for proteins. It contains text records for individual protein sequences derived from a variety of sources, including GenBank, the NCBI Reference Sequence (RefSeq) project and several external databases including UniProtKB/SWISS-Prot and the Protein Data Bank (PDB). It is important to understand that the sequences contained in almost all Protein records (with the exception of PDB) are conceptual translations of an RNA coding sequence, meaning that no one determined the protein sequence experimentally, but rather inferred the sequence from the corresponding RNA. Protein records are available in several formats (including FASTA and XML) and are linked to many other NCBI resources, allowing users to find relevant data such as literature, DNA/RNA sequences, genes, biological pathways and expression and variation data.
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules searchable by compound, substance or bioassay. PubChem includes physical data, drug information, and chemical structure graphics. This database is maintained by the U.S. National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
The Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB) Protein Data Bank (PDB) database provides primary data regarding 3-D structures of large biological molecules such as proteins and nucleic acids.
This US federal government website contains science and technical research results in many subjects of interest to the Department of Energy. This type of information was previously provided on the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database.