A great tool for when you are beginning your research, Quick Search is a research discovery engine that provides instant search access to many of the University Libraries’ resources, including journal and newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, electronic and print books, and much more. Quick Search results can be filtered by limiting to type of source, date range, subject, etc.
Type keywords into the search box to begin finding resources!
Finding Background Information
The following resources provide background information on artists and art terms. They are a great place to start your research and will help you explore and focus possible topics.
Provides online access to Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. This resource contains information on the visual arts world, from prehistory to the present day. Full text articles, images and charts, and links to web material.
An essential reference work embracing the vast vocabulary of art in all its forms. Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.
This dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies. It provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.
Combined here in a single volume are religious, classical, and historical themes, figures of moral allegory, and characters from romantic poetry that appeared throughout paintings and sculpture in Western art before and after the Renaissance.
This reference work deals with all aspects of Western art from 1300 to the present day. It provides information on painters, sculptors, and graphic artists, technical processes, terminology, theory, schools, movements, patrons and collecting, and much more.