A great tool for when you are beginning your research, Quick Search is a research discovery engine that provides instant search access to many of the University Libraries’ resources, including journal and newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, electronic and print books, and much more. Quick Search results can be filtered by limiting to type of source, date range, subject, etc.
Type keywords into the search box to begin finding resources!
Finding Background Information
The following resources provide background information on architects, architectural works, and architecture terms. They are a great place to start your research and will help you explore and focus possible topics.
Provides online access to Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. This resource contains information on the visual arts world, from prehistory to the present day. Full text articles, images and charts, and links to web material.
This inspiring book chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped architecture. 100 Ideas that Changed Architecture explores when each idea first evolved and the subsequent impact it has had up to the present day.
Comprehensive in scope, this title's range spans terms encountered in the practice of architecture from Classical to green, from traditional materials to the latest products, from precise definitions of architectural styles to the particulars of specifications writing.
Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to Zwinger and written in a clear and concise style, this authoritative dictionary covers architectural history in detail, from ancient times to the present day. It also includes concise biographies of hundreds of architects from history (excludingliving persons), from Sir Francis Bacon and Imhotep to Liang Ssu-ch'eng and Francis Inigo Thomas.
The Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture , Third Edition, features 8,000 definitions, 4,000 illustrations, and biographies of hundreds of architects accompanied by classic examples of their work. This new, full-color edition includes terms relating to green, ecological, and sustainable architecture.
Combining text and drawing, each term is given a minimum double-page spread on large format trim size, so that the term can be comprehensively explored, graphically showing relations between concepts and sub-terms.