Discover microform research collections at UNLV Libraries.
Browse or search brief descriptions of the research collections available on microform at Lied Library. Use a very broad search term (for example, try "women and history" instead of "Seneca Falls Women's Rights Convention") because this tool searches short summaries of very large microfilmed collection. The Microform Collection Finder does not search the microfilm itself.
An asterisk can be used as a wildcard: theat* finds theater, theatrical, theatregoer ...
Quotation marks for phrase searching - finds your terms in that exact order:
greyhound adoption program = will prioritize items about adopting dogs but will also include items about other kinds of adoption programs, Greyhound buses
"greyhound adoption" program = will only return items with the phrase greyhound adoption in that exact order, plus program anywhere in the item
Allows simultaneous searching of British Newspapers (1780-1950), London Times (1785-1985), ECCO (1700-1800), NCCO (1800-1900), Sabin Americana (1500-1926) and other Gale primary source collections.
Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives of Sexuality & Gender (LGBTQ History), British Library Newspapers, The Economist (1843-2014), Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), London Times Digital Archive, and London Times Literary Supplement
Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1923) book owned and scanned by a library. HathiTrust Digital Library catalogs books scanned from library collections.
UNLV users can login with their ACE accounts and download entire "full view" books/documents from the HathiTrust Digital Library. Use the gold Login button on the site, select UNLV, and log in with your ACE account.
It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Limited (search-only) books may not be viewed or downloaded even when logged in - check UNLV's collections or use interlibrary loan to acquire a print copy.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909 - 1975)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2013)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune (1841 - 1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877 - 2000)
Combined search of American historical newspapers (1690-1922), printed books (1639-1819), and pamphlets and ephemera (1749-1922).
Search all collections of historical primary sources from Readex simultaneously: America's Historical Newspapers, American Broadsides and Ephemera; American Pamphlets; Early American Imprints (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker).
Reference texts in American theater, as well as images of posters, playbills, photos, architectural images, floor plans, and other ephemera.
Update frequency: quarterly
This collection also allows cross-searching of the full text contents of five online full-text drama collections: Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, Asian American Drama, Latino Literature, and North American Women's Drama
Archive of plays submitted for license in England between 1737 and 1824, as well as diaries, playbills, theatre records and correspondence.
John Larpent was the English Inspector of Plays from 1778-1824 and responsible for executing the Licensing Act of 1737, a landmark act of censorship which required the Lord Chamberlain’s Office to approve any play before it was staged. Larpent preserved the original submissions, over 2,500 of which are presented here.
1779 to 1930
Primary source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930.
Contains four separate sections: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema. Reproduces primary source materials ranging from scrapbooks and full color posters to rare books and objects.
Art publications index with selected full text from 1997
Art, architecture, photography, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, film, museology are all covered. Possible to limit searches to full text items only or peer-reviewed items only. Works of art found reproduced in periodicals are also indexed. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage of selected articles begins in 1997.
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases cover art-related books, journal articles, exhibition catalogs, and conference proceedings published between 1975 and 2007.
Update frequency: annual
Abstracts and citations for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.
DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture
Substantial biographical overviews of literary authors.
Reliable information on authors and their works, placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
Search this subject index to identify journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations about literature in English and modern languages, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts. Links to full text whenever available; to search within the full text of some articles, search MLA via LION's Criticism & Reference search.
Literary criticism in articles and overviews. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series, Something About the Author, and Twayne's Authors.
Books on all subjects published in England between 1475 and 1700.
Update frequency: annual
Page images accurately reflect the way the works appeared in their original printed editions. Included are works by such authors as Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. The database also includes musical exercises by Henry Purcell, novels by Aphra Behn, prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources. This is the online equivalent of the Early English Books microform series, which is based on the Short-Title Catalogue (Pollard & Redgrave, 1475-1640); the Short-Title Catalogue II (Wing, 1641-1700); the Thomason Tracts, and the Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Books on all subjects published in English between 1701 and 1800.
Digitized books, pamphlets, broadsides and ephemera in English and foreign languages published in the British Empire and in English elsewhere in the world, from 1701-1800. It includes digital reproductions of every page of a variety of primary source materials-by many well-known and lesser-known authors.
Literary, satirical, political, religious and theatrical magazines and newspapers from Britain, Ireland, Scotland, India and the Caribbean.
Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion. Includes modules I-V.