Skip to main content

LGBTQIA Resources: LGBTQIA Special Collections

A RESOURCE GUIDE FOR LGBTQIA STUDENTS AND THEIR EDUCATORS

Las Vegas LGBTQIA Materials in Special Collections

Special Collections documents the history of the LGBTQAI community in Las Vegas by collecting documents, oral histories, photographs, posters, programs and some artifacts.  Our collections include the records of important community organizations and businesses and the papers and oral histories of notable individuals in Las Vegas who have played a significant role in the LGBTQIA community. The collection also includes both current and legacy Las Vegas-based LGBTQIA publications such as periodicals and newsletters. 

Manuscript Collections

Cave Nightclub Records
Coll #: MS-00519
Date: 1992-1994
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 11.2.3
The Cave Nightclub Records (1992-1994) are comprised of materials generated during the planning and construction of the Cave Nightclub in Las Vegas, Nevada. It opened in 1992 as a straight nightclub. It changed ownership in 1993, and reopened on September 3, 1993 as a gay nightclub and closed early in 1995. The collection contains policy documents, building plans, and promotional and publicity materials, as well as artifacts, including waiter uniforms from the nightclub.
Link to Collection Guide

Get Booked
Coll #: MS-00473
Date: 1993-1999
Extent: 3 linear feet (3 boxes)
Location: 10:6:4 - 10:6:5
The Get Booked Financial records comprise of the early (1993-1999) business records of Get Booked, a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender (LGBT) bookstore located in Las Vegas, Nevada. It documents the initial purchase of the business as well as monthly financial records, business ledgers, and promotional coupons.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Bugle
Coll #: MS-00476
Date: 1984-2002
Extent: 0.8 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: 10:6:6
The Las Vegas Bugle Collection on Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual History (1984-2002) consists of correspondence, newsclippings, and ephemera chronicling issues of the lesbian, gay, and bisexual communities in Nevada. In addition to records of the gay newspaper, the Las Vegas Bugle, the collection also contains documents pertaining to the founding of the Gay Community Service Center of Las Vegas, Nevada, Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG), and local political campaigns.
Link to Collection Guide

 

Center Stage, Inc. 
Coll #: MS-00551
Date: 1999-2008
Extent: 1.5 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: 13:7:6
The Center Stage Inc. Records are comprised of bylaws, meeting minutes, publicity, scripts, programs, cast lists and video recordings related to the Las Vegas, Nevada theater company's operation from 1999 to 2008. Center Stage Inc. was established in 1999 by Lenore Andrea Simon and Alana Brown.
Link to Collection Guide

Equal Rights Nevada
Coll #: MS-00607
Date: 2000-2002
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: 11:5:4
The Equal Rights Nevada (2000-2002) collection is comprised of organizational records documenting the group's unsuccessful fight against Question 2, a referendum voted upon in 2000 and 2002 to amend Nevada's state constitution to forbid same-sex marriage. It includes campaign files, financial records, publicity, correspondence, ephemera, and other supporting documentation from national and regional marriage equality organizations.
Link to Collection Guide

Fun One Bowling League Collection
Coll #: MS-00592
Date: 1987-1997
Extent: 0.8 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: Annex
The Fun One Bowling League Records (1987-1997) contain league books, schedules, membership lists, and other organizational records from the lesbian, gay, and bisexual Fun One Bowling League, which was established in Las Vegas, Nevada in 1985.
Link to Collection Guide

Gay and Lesbian Community Center of Southern Nevada
Coll #: 2007-25
Date: 1992-2002
Extent: 1.21 linear feet (1 record storage box and one 1/2 document box)
Location: 13:6:2
The Gay & Lesbian Community Center of Southern Nevada [GLCCSN], a 501(c)3 organization, was founded in the fall of 1992 through efforts inspired by the Friday Night Men�s Rap Group at the Community Counseling Center. The collection is comprised of material that documents the GLCCSN and includes news articles; institutional records such as bylaws, agendas, and meeting minutes; ephemera; and programs for the Center�s annual Honorarium fundraiser.
Link to Collection Guide

Gay and Lesbian Community Yellow Pages, Southern Nevada
Coll #: MS-00735
Date: 2004-2011
Extent: 0.5 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 2:1:7
The Gay and Lesbian Community Yellow Pages collection consists of phone books dating from 2004 through 2011 for the Southern Nevada area.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Men's Club
Coll #: MS-00557
Date: 1984
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 9:2:1
The Las Vegas Professional Men's Club Records (1984) consist of the constitution, meeting minutes, and organizational documents of the Las Vegas, Nevada Professional Men's Club, later known as the Las Vegas Men's Club (LVMC). The LVMC provided a social outlet for gay men in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada State Protection of Marriage Initiative Collection
Coll #: MS-00527
Date: 2000
Extent: 0.42 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 12:11:5
The Nevada State Protection of Marriage Initiative Collection (2000) consists of Clark County, Nevada petition signatures in favor of the initiative to exclude gay and lesbian Nevadans from marriage. The "Protection of Marriage Initiative" was also known as Question Two on the ballot. Much of this material is photocopied from the Nevada State Archives and contains pages from Clark County, including Boulder City, as well as notable Southern Nevada signatures.
Link to Collection Guide


Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00526
Date: 1994-2002
Extent: 0.2 linear (1 box)
Location: MS 12.11.4
The Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada (PLAN) records span the years 1994 to 2002 and are comprised of material documenting the organization's involvment in gay issues in Las Vegas, Nevada. PLAN was founded in 1994 as the umbrella organization for Nevada's progressive groups and institutions. This collection is comprised of material documenting the Minority Status and Child Protection Act of 1994 and the Coalition for Unity and Equal Rights Nevada, and contains a number of files from that effort, including opinion surveys, meeting agendas and campaign plans.
Link to Collection Guide

Reno Gay Rodeo
Coll #: MS-00503
Date: 1977-1988
Extent: 0.21 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 10:2:5
The Reno Gay Rodeo Collection comprises organizational records collected by Dennis McBride that document the National Reno Gay Rodeo from 1977 to 1988. It includes newspaper clippings, notes, and ephemera, as well as legal documentation from two lawsuits fought unsuccessfully in 1988 to retain the Reno rodeo. The two lawsuits were the Silver State Gay Rodeo Association vs Lawlor Events Center (1988), and the Lantry, et. al. vs Third Judicial District Court, NV (Nevada Supreme Court dismissal, 1988).
Link to Collection Guide

Royal Barony of the Desert Empire/Imperial Royal Sovereign Court of the Desert Empire
Coll #: MS-00556
Date: 1997-2003
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 13:7:3 and 13:7:5
The material is comprised of the organizational records of the Imperial Royal Sovereign Court of the Desert Empire and its predecessor, the Royal Barony of the Desert Empire, from 1997 to 2003. The records contain administrative and financial records such as charters, bylaws, financial reports, meeting minutes, correspondence, and publicity documenting the club�s activities in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Stand Out for Equality Records
Coll #: 2012-01
Date: approximately 2008-2011
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 box)
Location: MS 10.6.6
Collection is comprised of organizational records of Stand Out for Equality a Las Vegas-based LGBT activist organization formed to advocate for gay marriage rights and other LGBT-friendly legislation in Nevada. Inventory Available.

Stonewall Park Collection
Coll #: MS-00501
Date: 1983-1987
Extent: 0.42 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 10.2.5
The Stonewall Park Collection (1983-1987) documents the Stonewall Park project, an unrealized gay community in Nevada. Material includes news clippings and ephemera, as well as financial records and ancillary documents detailing bankruptcies and litigation associated with the Stonewall Park project. Much of this material is photocopied from MS 1990-15 (Fred Schoonmaker Papers), held at the Museum of GLBT History in San Francisco, CA.

Link to Collection Guide

Strutt Hurley Collection on the Southern Nevada Association of Pride, Inc. (SNAPI) and Las Vegas Gay Pride
Coll #: MS-00466
Date: 1989-2000
Extent: 5.6 linear feet (3 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MS 10.6.3, MS Map Case 11:I, RS 2.4.3
The Strutt Hurley Collection on the Southern Nevada Pride Association, Inc. (SNAPI) and Las Vegas Pride (1989-2000) contains materials collected and produced by Strutt Hurley during her tenure as Director of Entertainment of SNAPI. Materials include meeting minutes, advertising contracts, Las Vegas Pride programs, and ephemera collected from Pride celebrations in Las Vegas, Nevada and other parts of the United States and the world.

Link to Collection Guide

 

 

Anderson, Eddie
Coll #: 2002-27
Date: 1965-2000
Extent: 3.25 linear feet (4 boxes)
Location: MS 10:12:1 - 10:12:2
Anderson is a political and social activist and this collection contains news articles about his work for various diseases, political campaigning and social issues, particularly Gay Rights and teaching tolerance. There is also a photo of Anderson with President Nixon during the Apollo 11 splashdown in July, 1969. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Carratelli Collection
Coll #: MS-00536
Date: 1992-2002
Extent: 1.67 Linear Feet (2 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: 13:6:3
The Carratelli Family Collection on Gay Rights in Nevada (1992-2002) consists of documents and ephemera from various gay rights organizations and events in Las Vegas, Nevada. In addition to documents, fliers, and meeting minutes, the collection houses a box of t-shirts from various gay events and campaigns. The collection is especially focused on issues of Gay Pride organizing.
Link to Collection Guide

Corbett, Carol
Coll #: MS-00521
Date: 1981-2006
Extent: 8.5 Linear Feet (14 boxes)
Location: B 2.3.1 - B 2.3.4
The Carol Corbett Papers, 1981-2006, contain papers from Nevada organizations, Clark County offices, and general biographical and geographical information. Included are Corbett Recorder Scholarship and Hoggard Memorial Scholarship data, files for the Clark County Recorder's Office, Clark County Credit Union, Records Management Policies and Procedures, a District Attorney Opinion Project, Nevada Women's History Project, Nevada History Archives, and the State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) files. There is also information on gay issues. Materials also include slides and photographs.
Link to Collection Guide

Daly v Daly Collection
Coll #: MS-00502
Date: 1980 - 2003
Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 10:2:5
The Daly v Daly Collection documents materials produced for and as a result of the lawsuits between Suzanne Daly (formerly Tim Daly), a male-to-female transgender woman, and Nancy Toews Daly from 1980 to 2003. The collection primarily focuses on the motions filed with the Nevada District Courts and Nevada Supreme Court and transcripts of the divorce, the battle for parental rights, and an allegation of civil rights violations.
Link to Collection Guide

Daniel Hinkley Papers
Coll #: MS-00525
Date: 1999-2001
Extent: 0.42 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 12.11.5
The Dan Hinkley papers are comprised of material documenting Hinkley's work on behalf of the gay community in Las Vegas, Nevada between the years of 1999 to 2001. It includes Hinkley's files on the Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada, the campaign against Question 2, and various subjects related to the gay community in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

 

Jacques, Marge papers
Coll #: MS-00438
Date: 1960-1990
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 9:6:4
The Marge Jacques Papers (1960-1990) comprise the personal papers of Marge Jacques, a prominent member of the Las Vegas, Nevada gay and lesbian community, and owner of the gay bar, Le Cafe. The papers contain correspondence, licensing records, financial statements, and artifacts from clubs that Jacques owned or managed. Also included are photographs, videotapes, audiotapes, newspaper clippings, and Gipsy Nightclub promotional material.
Link to Collection Guide

Lee Plotkin Papers
Coll #: MS-00518
Date: 1955-2006
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 11.2.2
The Lee Plotkin papers document Plotkin's political work and associations as an LGBT activist and spokesman for the Las Vegas gay community, and include correspondence, press releases, copies of his columns, institutional and legislative documents, brochures, fliers and other ephemera from 1955 to 2006.
Link to Collection Guide

Loewy, Michael
Coll #: 2000-03
Date: 1985-1991
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: MS 7.12.3
Collection consists of four files on the Desert and Mountain States Lesbian and Gay Conference.

May, Rick L
Coll #: MS-00446
Date: 1982-1995
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 9:10:5
The Rick L. May Papers document some of the social and political activities of Las Vegas, Nevada's lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) community from 1982 to 1995. The papers include records from the Gay Academic Union of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas; various gay pride celebrations in Los Angeles, California and Las Vegas; the Metropolitan Community Church's outreach to the LGBT community; as well as Rick L. May's own notes and collections about LGBT-supportive stores like R and R Assordid Sundries. The collection also includes several t-shirts that commemorate the pride celebrations. The papers demonstrate how the pride celebrations that began in 1984 were the result of efforts from several sectors of Las Vegas' LGBT community.
Link to Collection Guide

Parks, David R.
Coll #: 2000-14
Date: 1990-1999
Extent: 1.5 linear feet (2 boxes)
Location: MS 8.9.4, RS 2.5.3
Collection is comprised of a small selection of personal papers from Nevada's first openly-gay assemblyman, David R. Parks. Includes business records on the Camp David Bath House in Las Vegas and a campaign sign from Parks' 1996 campaign.

Pickett, Tamara Papers
Coll #: MS-00467
Date: 1978-1998
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 10:6:3
The Tamara Pickett Papers (1977-1998) are comprised of materials related to the experiences of transgendered individuals in America. The collection includes transgender publications, scientific articles about sex reassignment surgery, and informational material provided to Pickett from various doctors as she planned her own sexual reassignment surgery.
Link to Collection Guide

Rodgers, Kerin Scianna
Coll #: 97-08
Date: 1973 - 1986
Extent: 1 record storage carton (1 linear foot)
Location: 6:6:1
Collection is comprised of news clippings, campaign materials, correspondence and photographs pertaining to Rodger's work with the Democratic party and her political activities in Southern Nevada and Las Vegas. Rodgers also owned the Gipsy, a Las Vegas gay dance bar located on Paradise Road near Naples Ave.

Stagg, Kendall
Coll #: MS-00447
Date: 1998-2000
Extent: 0.21 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 9:10:5
The Kendall Stagg Collection (1998-2000) consists of material documenting Kendall Stagg’s political races in northern Nevada and also details gay activism in Reno. The collection consists of Stagg campaign materials, a t-shirt from one of his campaigns, and documents pertaining to the Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Student Union at the University of Nevada, Reno and Gay Pride parade organizing in Reno.
Link to Collection Guide

Strutt Hurley Collection on the Southern Nevada Association of Pride, Inc. (SNAPI) and Las Vegas Gay Pride
Coll #: MS-00466
Date: 1989-2000
Extent: 5.6 linear feet (3 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MS 10.6.3, MS Map Case 11:I, RS 2.4.3
The Strutt Hurley Collection on the Southern Nevada Pride Association, Inc. (SNAPI) and Las Vegas Pride (1989-2000) contains materials collected and produced by Strutt Hurley during her tenure as Director of Entertainment of SNAPI. Materials include meeting minutes, advertising contracts, Las Vegas Pride programs, and ephemera collected from Pride celebrations in Las Vegas, Nevada and other parts of the United States and the world.
Link to Collection Guide

Sumpter, Rodney
Coll #: 2000-01
Date: 1985-1986
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 7:12:4
Collection is comprised of legal files relative to the 1985-86 challenge of Nevada's sodomy laws (NRS 201.190).

Ted Lenhart Collection on the LGBT Community
Coll #: MS-00484
Date: 1990-2001
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 10.4.2
The Ted Lenhart Collection the LGBT Community (1990-2001) is comprised of correspondence, news clippings, and organizational material which details gay community issues in Nevada throughout the 1990s. The collection includes materials from Aid for AIDS of Nevada, the Clark County Coalition of HIV/AIDS Providers, the Nevada chapter of AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power (ACT-UP), efforts to organize an HIV-Negative Men’s Support Group in Nevada, and Nevada Outdoors, a gay and lesbian hiking club.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilsey, Terry
Coll #: 2003-17
Extent: 0.4 linear feet (2 boxes)
Location: MS 10:6:4
Gay archives materials

Young, Christie
Coll #: MS-00350
Date: 1982-1985
Extent: 1 box (0.4 linear feet)
Location: MS 7:12:3
The Christie Young Papers are comprised of the personal journals of Christie Young between 1982 and 1995. These journals document Young's arrival in Las Vegas, Nevada and her involvement in several nascent Las Vegas lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) organizations from 1982 to 1985 as well as her life in San Diego from 1985 to 1995. The collection also includes typed transcripts of all journal entries that relate to the Las Vegas LGBT community.
Link to Collection Guide

 

Loading

Images

Periodicals

Special Collections has large runs of local  publications that document current and past happenings in the Las Vegas LGBTQIA community. There are both current and legacy publications as well as newsletters from many local organizations. Some popular titles are listed below, but for the full list, please contact Su Kim Chung, Curator of LGBTQIA Collections. 

Las Vegas Bugle : 1988-2002

Las Vegas Night Beat or Night Beat : 2002- Current

Q Vegas : 2004-2014

Las Vegas' Gay & Lesbian Community Yellow Pages

Lambda Business Directory

 

Oral Histories

Special Collections holds nearly forty oral history interviews that chronicle the lives of LGBT individuals from the Las Vegas community over five decades.  For a listing of these oral history interviews, click here.  To view these oral histories, please stop by Special Collections.  There is a detailed index to their content that is available upon request. 

Head, Special Collections Public Services

Su Kim Chung's picture
Su Kim Chung
Contact:
702-895-2241
© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**