Library Guides - JOUR 261 - Introduction to Integrated Marketing Communications (Venger) - LibGuides at University of Nevada, Las Vegas

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch

Great place to begin investigating background information & articles about your company or organization and/or consumer markets:

Quick Search

Public Relations/Journalism Databases

Communication and Media Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950-
Full text of 16 communications journals published by Sage.
This communication collection includes the full text of journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies, intercultural communication, television & film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational & management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1900-
Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies .
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field.
The ComAbstracts database index contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. Produced by the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship. Use the link labeled "Check your library for full text access" to retrieve complete articles when available online.

Market Research Databases (Researching Companies, Advertising, Markets, etc.)

IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Industry market research information, company reports and economic reports.
Scope: International
Industry market research reports covering over 700 industries written at the 5-digit NAICS level which provide key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors and industry outlook. Now available, over 100 China industry reports (manufacturing, accommodation and food service, education, conventions, real estate, transportation, etc.). Please click on the "China Site" link above the list of U.S. Industry reports to access the site.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This global business information database contains current public and private company information, SWOT analyses, market report, company news, financial information and executive profiles.
It is updated monthly. Select International Businesses from the drop-down menu or on the column on the left to begin a search.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business along with company profiles and SWOT analyses.
The database also includes company profiles of the world’s 10,000 largest companies providing SWOT analysis for many companies.
Market Research.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text market research reports.
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to a library of 200+ page market profile studies from Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information (SBI) covering industries including consumer goods, food and beverages, demographics, healthcare, technology, media, manufacturing, and many others. Reports include extensive background information, forecasts and analyses on the topic, statistics, charts, graphs and tables. Reports are added to the service within 12 months after they are released to commercial clients.
Mintel Market Research Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International reports on consumer products and industries. All users who register and create a profile must use their university email address.
Mintel offers hundreds of market research reports covering the U.S. and International consumer marketplaces. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. The database covers cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for videos on qualitative consumer research.
Source producers include Media Education Foundation, BBC, PBS, Kino Lorber, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, among others.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950s - present
Access is limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Continuously updated news and business information from major news sources.
This database combines over 30,000 sources from 200 countries, in 28 languages. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Passport This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
5 years of forecasts
15 years of historic data
Market research reports with demographic and statistical information on consumer lifestyles, consumer products, countries, companies and industries.
Scope: International
This integrated online information system covers over 350 markets in 207 countries. Information is accessible in four modules: statistics (quantitative data and forecasts on consumer lifestyles, retailing, countries, consumer markets), analysis (in-depth market analysis report format), companies (profiles of leading FMCG companies along with financial data, market share and brand information) and sources (lists data providers by specific subject area.) Statistical data goes back as far as 1977 (but most series start in 1990) and is forecast out to 2015. Reports generally stay in the database for 5 years.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.

Trade Publications

UNLV Special Collections Books & Resources

Modernizing Federal Restrictions on Gaming Advertising

1979 Advertising Expenditures of Major Accommodations Chains in the United States Measured Media & Highlights of Trends in Destination Advertising Expenditures in United States Measured Media
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HF6161.H75 A17x 1980
Advertising State Lotteries
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HG6128 .W55x 1989
Outstanding Casino Advertising Techniques
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HF6161.G23 O98 1995
Advertising Proposal to the Downtown Progress Association, June 13, 1990: Action Central
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HT168.L35 G73 1990
High Response Casino Advertising
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HF6161.G23 H54 1998
Advertising Legalized Gambling: A Late Bloomer Under The First Amendment
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HF6161.G23 S77x 1992
Advertising Playing Cards:
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections GV1235 .G75 1992
Advertising Strategies and The Retail Customer Market in Atlantic City: Issues for the Casino Industry
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HV6708 .N38 1984 v.2
A History of Advertising and Promotion in the Reno Gaming Industry
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HV6721.R4 S36
Advertising and The Elderly: Do Magazine Ads Continue To Reinforce Ageism?
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HF6107 .A36 2000a
Gaming Advertising and The Struggle for its First Amendment Rights
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HF6161.G23 A53 1996a
Hispanic Transportation Focus Group: Travel Activities, Ride Sharing, and Advertising
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HE5620.R53 S38 2000
Transportation Focus Group: Travel Activities, Ride Sharing, and Advertising
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HF5620.R53 S38 2000
Developments in Legal Gambling’s Right to Advertise
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HF6161.G23 R67 1988
Outstanding Casino Marketing Techniques
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HF6161.G23 O985 1996
Legal Gambling: The Right to Advertise
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HV6708 .N38 1984 v.2
Understanding Casino Marketing
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HD9999.G25 M36 2003
Collector’s Treasury of Antique Slot Machines From Contemporary Advertising, 1925-1950
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections TJ1570 .C64
Gambling, Saloon, Advertising and Old West Collectibles Mail-Auction: The Best Game In Town!
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections GV1301 .G35x 1985
Outstanding Casino Direct Mail Programs
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections HF6161.G23 O983 1998
Nevada: A Compilation of Newspaper Advertisements Covering The History of Nevada Published by Fabulous Harold’s Club of Reno
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections F841 .W49
Amending Title 18 of the United States Code to Permit The Transportation, Mailing and Broadcasting of Advertising, Information, and Materials Concerning Lotteries Authorized by Law and Conducted By A State, and For Purposes
Call Number: Lied Library Special Collections KF32 .J8 1974

Web Resources

Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Contains reports and surveys

Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Brand Channel
An international online exchange and resource about brand marketing and branding

Ad Council
The leading producer of public service advertisements since 1942. Addresses critical social issues in America.

Adweek
Adweek is a magazine and website that covers media news, including print, technology, advertising, branding and television.

Fortune 500 Company List
Fortune's list of the top ranked companies.

AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
Duke University collection of vintage television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.

AdRespect
AdRespect promotes advertising that respects diversity, gender identity/expression, and sexual orientation for a more accepting society and better business results.

Accounting Software Tools

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

JOUR 261 - Introduction to Integrated Marketing Communications (Venger): Library Guides

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch

Public Relations/Journalism Databases

Market Research Databases (Researching Companies, Advertising, Markets, etc.)

Trade Publications

Advertising and PR Trade Publications

Survey Creation Applications

UNLV Special Collections Books & Resources

Web Resources

Marketing Software Tools

Accounting Software Tools

Urban Affairs Librarian

Locations

Contact