Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies .
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Full text of 16 communications journals published by Sage.
This communication collection includes the full text of journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies, intercultural communication, television & film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational & management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field.
The ComAbstracts database index contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. Produced by the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship. Use the link labeled "Check your library for full text access" to retrieve complete articles when available online.
Historical newspapers from every state in the U.S.
Search full text and view page images for articles in categories such as news/opinion, election returns, letters, poetry, legislative information, prices, advertisements, matrimony notices and death notices. Can also be searched in combination with Early American Imprints I and II. Series I, 1690-1876: provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's bibliography, History and bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820, as well as other bibliographies; Series II, 1758-1900: focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860; Series III, 1829-1922: focuses on the period between 1861 and 1920 providing in-depth coverage of the Civil War, Reconstruction, the Gilded Age, the Progressive Era and beyond.
Cover to cover digital reproductions of the Los Angeles Times with searchable full text.
Complete issues of the Los Angeles Times, including news, ads, obituaries, reviews, editorials, legal notices, comics, and photographs. Search by full text and view digital reproductions of newspaper pages. Output is a PDF image of the article as it appeared in print.
America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 at the Library of Congress, including some Tonopah, Pioche and Carson City newspapers.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 at the Library of Congress or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Nevada Newspapers
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Primary documents, encyclopedia entries, and journal articles about U.S. history.
The History Resource Center: U.S. is an integrated collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day. It combines more than 1,000 primary documents with coverage found in more than a dozen reference sources, including Scribner's Dictionary of American History and the Dictionary of American Biography. Complete full text coverage of approximately 65 periodicals, as well as access to the citations for history journals from ISI's Arts & Humanities Citation Index is provided.
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.
Music, film, broadcasting and theater industry trade publications published before 2000 including Variety, Billboard, New Musical Express, Broadcasting, The Stage, American Film , Picturegoer and more.
Search major entertainment magazines for comprehensive information on specific films, plays, theaters, actors, directors, TV series, film studios, musicians, genres, record labels, subcultures and youth movements. These journals published industry news items, feature articles, in-depth interviews with major artists, photographs and illustrations, gossip columns, listings, reviews, charts and statistics and more
-- Explore the possibilities remaining for historical study. This book explores the possibilities remaining for historical study in the face of the current trends, including postcolonialism, postmodernism, and deconstruction, among others. This text is available in a variety of formats - digital and print. Pearson offers its titles on the devices students love through CourseSmart, Amazon, and more. Learning Goals Upon completing this text, readers will be able to: Understand how to examine trends in history. Understand how historical events influence today's world.
The traces of the Cold War are still visible in many places all around the world. It is the topic of exhibits and new museums, of memorial days and historic sites, of documentaries and movies, of arts and culture. There are historical and political controversies, both nationally and internationally, about how the history of the Cold War should be told and taught, how it should be represented and remembered.
Images of the assassination of John F. Kennedy are burned deeply into the memories of millions who watched the events of November 1963 unfold live on television. Never before had America seen an event of this magnitude as it happened. But what is it we remember? How did the near chaos of the shooting and its aftermath get transformed into a seamless story of epic proportions? In this book, Barbie Zelizer explores the way we learned about and came to make sense of the killing of the president. Covering the Body (the title refers to the charge given journalists to follow a president) is a powerful reassessment of the media's role in shaping our collective memory of the assassination—at the same time as it used the assassination coverage to legitimize its own role as official interpreter of American reality. Of the more than fifty reporters covering Kennedy in Dallas, no one actually saw the assassination. And faced with a monumentally important story that was continuously breaking, most journalists had no time to verify leads or substantiate reports. Rather, they took discrete moments of their stories and turned them into one coherent narrative, blurring what was and was not "professional" about their coverage. Through incisive analyses of the many accounts and investigations in the years since the shooting, Zelizer reveals how journalists used the assassination not just to relay the news but to address the issues they saw as central to the profession and to promote themselves as cultural authorities. Indeed, argues Zelizer, these motivations are still alive and are at the core of the controversy surrounding Oliver Stone's movie, JFK. At its heart, Covering the Body raises serious questions about the role of the media in defining our reality, and shaping our myths and memories. In tracing how journalists attempted to answer questions that still trouble most Americans, Zelizer offers a fascinating analysis of the role of the media as cultural authorities.
Praise for the first edition: This collection of essays comes mainly from academics but nobody should bridle at theorists lecturing practitioners. They properly challenge the way September 11th was reported - in a way that's both an endorsement of the role of the media and a wake-up call on its failures . . . anyone interested in our trade should read it.'- Roger Mosey, Ariel 'A thoughtful and engaging examination of the effects of 9/11 on the field of journalism. Its unique aim is to discuss the impact of the attack as a personal trauma and its current and future effects on journalism and the reporting of the news. . . highly recommended.'- Library Journal Journalism After September 11examines how the traumatic attacks of that day continue to transform the nature of journalism, particularly in the United States and Britain. Familiar notions of what it means to be a journalist, how best to practice journalism, and what the public can reasonably expect of journalists in the name of democracy, were shaken to their foundations. Ten years on, however, new questions arise regarding the lasting implications of that tragic day and its aftermath. Bringing together an internationally respected collection of scholars and media commentators, Journalism After September 11addresses topics such as: journalism and public life at a time of crisis; broadsheet and tabloid newspaper coverage of the attacks; the role of sources in shaping the news; reporting by global news media such as CNN; Western representations of Islam; current affairs broadcasting; news photography and trauma; the emotional well-being of reporters; online journalism; as well as a host of pertinent issues around news, democracy and citizenship. This second edition includes four new chapters - examining Arabic newspaper reporting of the attacks, the perceptions of television audiences, national magazine coverage of the ensuing crisis, and the media politics of 'othering' - as well as revised chapters from the first edition and an updated Introduction by the co-editors. A foreword is provided by Victor Navasky and an afterword by Phillip Knightley.
A collection of images from over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines from 1911 through 1955. Subject areas include: radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene and World War II.
Sponsored by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this is an electronic collection that provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. Five different projects make up the site:
A project that interweaves the histories of two communities on either side of the Mason-Dixon line during the era of the American Civil War. It incorporates a narrative and electronic archive of the sources on which the narrative is based.
Browsable and searchable American political prints from 1766-1876.
Secession Era Editorials Project: Editorials from the Secession Era from the following sources: Nebraska Bill Editorials (1854); Caning of Sumner Editorials (1856); Dred Scott Editorials (1857); and Harper's Ferry / John Brown Editorials (1859).