This guide provides resources to support course assignment for HMD 395. Explores the engineering and maintenance requirements peculiar to the hospitality industry. Special emphasis on environmental issues, modernization, building operating systems, and resource management.
Managing the Built Environment in Hospitality Facilities by
Managing the Built Environment in Hospitality Facilities is its 8th year in print with a new, updated edition! This book provides an introduction to managing hospitality buildings and grounds for non-technical managers - an ideal foundation for hospitality management students and emerging managers in the industry. The 2nd edition features shorter chapters to provide material in more focused, ""bite-sized"" chunks. The book consists of 23 chapters, organized into four distinct sections: How Facilities are Managed - an overview of the topic of facilities management and the tasks, management systems, and financial management of the building and property. Building Systems - this provides an overview of the essential mechanical and electrical systems in hospitality facilities, including water, electrical, lighting, HVAC, fire and life safety, vertical transportation, foodservice equipment, and laundry systems. Building Structural Components - this section presents the basic elements of how buildings are made and outdoor elements including landscaping, hardscaping, and parking systems. Issues and Trends - this section covers essential information about compliance with accessibility requirements, sustainability and green certifications, and alternative energy sources. It also provides a chapter dedicated to emergency and disaster planning. Finally, this text provides what no other book provides - comprehensive coverage of maintenance contract management processes and construction and renovation project management. Managing the Built Environment in Hospitality Facilities provides hospitality managers and students with the basic knowledge required to: understand how the building works maintain the building to sustain its value provide a great guest experience provide a safe and productive work environment for employees control costs and increase profits communicate effectively with facility managers, vendors, general managers, and owners make good decisions at work...and at home!