Definitions of Community Engagement
Definition of Community Engagement: …the process of working collaboratively with and through groups of people affiliated by geographic proximity, special interest, or similar situations to address issues affecting the well-being of those people It is a powerful vehicle for bringing about environmental and behavioral changes that will improve the health of the community and its members. It often involves partnerships and coalitions that help mobilize resources and influence systems, change relationships among partners, and serve as catalysts for changing policies, programs, and practices (CDC, 1997, p 9 – published in CDC, Principles of Community Engagement Second Edition, 2011, p. 3)
The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching provides the most widely acknowledged definition of engagement defined as:
Community engagement describes the collaboration between institutions of higher education and their larger communities (local, regional/state, national, global) for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in a context of partnership and reciprocity.
One of the best places to start searching is on the UNLV Libraries Quick Search box:
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Good for: Researching criminology and related disciplines.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1960-current date.
Good for: Researching criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, family & domestic violence, and more.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1950-current date.
Good for: Finding scholarship in communication and mass media studies, including journalism and popular culture.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1900-current date
Good for: Researching sociology and related disciplines.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1895-present.
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.
Good for: Finding regional news articles and broadcast television transcripts.
Contains: Regional newspapers and transcripts.
Good for: Controversial topics in social issues, environment, health, education, science, and technology.
Contains: Reports with information about all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a bibliography for additional research, and a list of advocacy organizations.
Dates covered: 1923-present.
Good for: Saving, organizing and formatting citations in your personal database.
Contains: Bibliography manager.
