Skip to main content

Graphic Design, Hill: Images and Inspiration: Library Guides

A collection of visual and design reference sources

Databases

ARTstor

Art digital images and related data.

Image credit: Arnold, Alden F., 1921-. Form follows function. 1949.. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/CARNEGIE_6060007

Bloomsbury Design Library

The Bloomsbury Design Library includes design reference works, handbooks and textbooks about of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day.

Trade Catalogues and the American Home

1850-1950
Primary sources like catalogs, price lists, and brochures reflecting the history of consumer advertising and marketing and life and leisure in America. Includes department store catalogs, cosmetic advertisements, real estate brochures and much more.

Food Studies Online

1900-
Food Studies Online contains 80,000 pages of primary archival materials, images, and secondary works, plus 200 hours of documentaries and series, and visual ephemera.

Image credit: CALIFORNIA ALTA MAR BRAND SARDINES. Alexander Street Ephemera Collection (Provided by  Lizzyyoung Bookseller, http://lizzyoungbookseller.com), Alexander Street. Food Studies Online Database. Web. 

Fashion Photography Archive

Showcases thirty years of contemporary fashion history with more than 750,000 high-quality runway, backstage, and street style images, selected articles, and biographies. Browse images by color, pattern, textile, garment type and more.

Victorian Popular Culture, 1779 to 1930

1779 to 1930
Primary source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930.

Harper's Bazaar Archive

1867-
Searchable, full-text, complete run, including articles and images, of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to the present.

Image credit: Cover. Harper's Bazaar, vol. 63, no. 2592, October, 1928.

19th Century Collections: Photography - the World through the Lens

Collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books, and texts on the early history of photography found in libraries and archives across the globe.

Image credit: Cameron, Julia Margaret. Illustrations to Tennyson's Idylls of the King and Other Poems. Henry S. King & Co., 1875. Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest, 1950-1975

1950-1975
Primary sources documenting popular culture in the US and Britain, 1950-1975, including manuscripts, video, photos, underground magazines and more.

Vogue Archive

1892-
Images and text from Vogue Magazine.

Image credit: Cover, Vogue Magazine, May 1986.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

Images held by the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress.

Image credit: WPA Posters Collection, Library of Congress.

Getty Trust images

Images from the J. Paul Getty museum - use the search filters to choose the type of material for your results.

Image credit: Alberti, Pietro Francesco, 1584-1638. "Academia d'pitori," Etching, black-and-white, [ca. 1600].

Interesting places to browse images

Searching Creative Commons

Creative Commons offers a search tool to find media which can be used under a CC license. This tool links to search services that provide options for finding works that you are able to use.

Advanced options in Google Search allow you to filter results by "usage rights." This means that you can use a Google search to find media works or text that the creator has given permission to use.

Wikimedia Commons is a free-content website which sorts media works into the categories of "Images," "Sounds," and Videos. You can search for media that you have permission to use and upload your own works to share with others.

Class Exercise, 9/17/18

Schongauer, Martin, 15th cent. (c.1480-90). Series of Coats of Arms: Shield with a Greyhound, Held by a Wild Man. Retrieved from ARTstor.

humanities librarian

Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian's picture
Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

priscilla.finley@unlv.edu
Contact:
Lied Library LLB1187
(702) 570-1338
© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**