Skip to main content

EDA 707 Critique of Literature (Roberts): Welcome to UNLV Libraries!

Getting started finding articles for literature reviews and setting up Endnote

Library visit outcomes

During today's visit, students will

  • set up the accounts and passwords needed to access and organize sources for a literature review
  • examine a sample literature review's introduction and methods section
  • review how to find an article online from a citation
  • identify at least three subject databases that contain education scholarship
  • use the ERIC database and thesaurus to list potential search terms
  • try out advanced search strategies (Boolean, subject field searches)
  • learn how to receive PDFs of articles through interlibrary loan
  • consider the benefits of keeping a search log
  • select potential studies to review and save citations online using EndNote basic
  • install EndNote X9 trial and practice syncing libraries, organizing citations in groups, and using the Find Updates and Find Full Text features 
  • try out EndNote X9's Write While you Cite feature to generate citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word
  • use Kopernio to collect PDFs and citation information from Google Scholar and publisher site results

Getting Set Up

 

Get a RebelCard at the student union and bring it to the Lied circulation desk to have your library barcode activated so that you can check out books and set up an ILL account.

 

To access library journal and database subscriptions from off campus, you will need your ACE account. Links from the library web site to subscription-only articles, journals and databases will prompt you to log in with your ACE. 

 

Set up an interlibrary loan (ILLiad) account so that you can receive articles not owned by the library in PDF form in 1-3 days.  Do this at http://unlv.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html - you create your own username and password for this account. Remember that ILL articles only remain in your account for 30 days, so archive anything you need to keep longer on your computer.

 

Set up your Google Scholar preferences to direct you to UNLV journal subscriptions so you can get full text access without paying if UNLV subscribes.  Google Scholar library links preferencesNow you will see a UNLV Find Text link in your search results for citations that UNLV can provide online access to.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**