Skip to main content

COM 408: Rhetorical Criticism (VanderHaagen)

Resources for upcoming research projects for COM 408

Some General Starting Points for Your Research

When was your speech (or artifact) first presented? One of the best places to get a sense of the time period is through newspapers.  UNLV Libraries has a wide selection of newspaper databases going back centuries through today.

You will be able to find a wide variety of rhetorical analyses & criticisms, along with a wide variety of resources about the speaker on the Library's QuickSearch (on the home page), in the library catalog, and in UNLV Libraries databases such as Communication & Mass Media Complete, Communication Studies, ComAbstracts, and JSTOR.

You may also want to try Google Scholar to expand your search to a wider variety of disciplines at once.

Considering this semester's theme is public discourse in the Las Vegas Valley, you'll become acquainted with UNLV's Special Collections, located in the 3rd floor of Lied Library.

Search Special Collections for oral histories, archives and manuscripts, photographs.

Click HERE for collections within Special Collections.

 

 

 

Las Vegas History Overviews

Las Vegas Newspapers

Newspaper Indexes For Las Vegas

  • 12/2/1990 - 12/31/2012. Full-text articles for the Las Vegas Review Journal in ProQuest US Newsstream.
  • 1996 - present. Full-text articles for the Las Vegas Review Journal, 9/29/96 -current in Access Nevada.
  • 1996 - present. Full-text articles for the Las Vegas Sun, 2/19/96 -current in Access Nevada. Also includes scattered issues from 1973-1995 and a single issue from 1957. 
  • 1995 - present. Full-text articles for the Las Vegas Sun
  • 1983 - 1990. Citations only microfiche index available at UNLV Library to Las Vegas Review Journal and Las Vegas Sun.
  • 1972 - 1982. Citations only to Las Vegas Review Journal and Las Vegas Sun available in NNI Nevada Newspaper Index on UNLV Library microfilm scanning computers. Instructions on how to use.
  • 1965 - 1977. Full-text articles for the Las Vegas Sun are available online via Las Vegas-Clark County Library's subscription to NewspaperArchive.com - you must have an LVCCLD card or visit a branch for online access.
  • 1930 - 8/1968. Las Vegas Review Journal index (citations only) available on index cards at the Cahlan Research Library inside the Nevada Historical Society and Museum, which is located in Springs Preserve. Contact them or call ahead at 702-486-5205 to make an appointment to use the index.
  • 1905 - 1940. Las Vegas Age index (citations only) available on index cards, also at the Cahlan Research Library.
  • 4/7/1905-1915, 1917-1922, 1924. Full-text articles for the Las Vegas Age.
  • There are no indexes available for 9/1968 - 1971 for the Las Vegas Review Journal.

Las Vegas Age

Las Vegas Sun

Las Vegas Review Journal

UNLV Student Newspaper

UNLV Libraries Databases

Nevada Historical Quarterly

State & Local Documents

Records and reports published by the state and by certain Clark County or City of Las Vegas agencies can be found on the second floor near the tutoring area. Use the library Quick Search and try an organization name, for example: Clark County Dept. of Aviation, Clark County School District.

Nevada State Library Archives Resources

NV Historic Preservation

Nevada State Historic Preservation Office reports

Example--President Kennedy Visits Las Vegas 9/28/1963

Some suggested searches (on Internet, UNLV Library Databases, Microforms, Other Resources)

  • Investigate the Las Vegas Review Journal & Las Vegas Sun microfilms during Aug-September, 1963 for preview, coverage & commentary from President Kennedy's Visit
  • Visit Youtube
  • Google President Kennedy & Las Vegas visit 1963
  • Investigate other newspaper databases (such as the New York Times in September 1963): Was the Las Vegas visit covered? Were the issues the President discussed in his speech also discussed in other news sources?

 

Annotated Bibliography Guides

Subject Guide

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian's picture
Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian
Contact:
UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
702-895-2141

Credits & Thank You

Thank you to Humanities Librarian Priscilla Finley & Su Kim Chung, Head of Public Services, UNLV Special Collections for suggesting & sharing many of the resources on this guide.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**